Seth Yeager*, Lauren Dickhaus, Meara O’Connor*, Victoria Zamitalo*, Rayaan Ali*, Justin Barlas* `and (front) Miles Monroe. (* IB students)

The Green Devil Marching Band and Color Guard won numerous first place and other awards in four regional competitions this Fall season as described below.

This year the band was directed by Ms. Katie Aucremann, and the performance show was “1001 Nights,” the music of Scheherazade intended to evoke images from the Arabian Nights stories.   You can enjoy their performance one more time (without the marching) at the band program’s Winter Concert in the school auditorium, Thursday December 13 at 7 p.m.

At the 42nd Annual Seminole Sound Spectacular on October 6, they won Best in Brass, Best Woodwinds, Best Percussion, and Best Drum Major for an overall finish of 2nd place in Division 1A.  They were only 1/10th of a point from winning 1st place.

At the Tarpon Springs Outdoor Music Festival October 20, they won Grand Champion for Division 1A as well as Best Brass, Best Percussion, Best Guard, Best General Effect, and Best Visual Effect.

At the 15th Annual East Lake Classic on October 27, they took 2nd place in Division 2A, with Awards for Best Music and Best Percussion.  Their overall score of 74.1 was their highest score in the known history of the marching band.

The Marching Band Performance Assessment (MPA) was their final adjudicated performance of the season on November 3 at Dunedin High School.  They received Superiors (highest possible rating) across the board in Music Performance, Visual Performance, General Effect, Percussion, and Color Guard.


These 25 IB students make up over half of the 43-member Marching Band: Rayaan Ali, Mikaela Badilla, Sofia Balanda, Justin Barlas, Jose Barreto, Katelyn Disler, Ashley Eagan, Kaleb Friday-Saunders, Nina Greenberg, Lena Hanson, Nico Hernandez, Sophia Hirst, Hollis Humphrey, Alexiss Jezierski, Ilan Kohan-Shohet, Shannon Menke, Clare Meyers, Meara O’Connor, Jedidiah Grace Santiago, Sophia Sapienza, Kai Schulte, Sydney Soskin, Donny Spurlock, Seth Yeager, and Victoria Zamitalo.

Print article