The annual IB Senior Celebration banquet at the Coliseum on May 20 was a success with 499 guests attending. The celebration committee went all out to make this a special night for the seniors.  SPHS Jazz Band entertained guests as they arrived.  The event’s photographer took family and individual photos, and guests perused IB memorabilia such as program scrapbooks and photos of seniors’ alumni family members.

After a delicious dinner was served, Master of Ceremonies Anthony Bryant provided welcoming remarks and the Pitchforks performed the SPHS Alma Mater and “Time after Time.”  IB teacher Laura Domanski conducted the traditional roll call of IB seniors and their respective selected colleges, announced in order by Learner Profile traits chosen for each graduate by the IB faculty.

The evening’s entertainment showcased student talents including videos, music, and dance performances. Engaging speeches were given by  Dominika Dzurny and Ben Ly, selected by their IB classmates as the Class of 2019 Student Speakers,  and Mr. Cano as the Don Driskell Award recipient.  The HL Spanish Dancers concluded their performance by leading highly energetic conga lines of all IB seniors snaking around the Coliseum tables.

The senior class t-shirt, selected by class vote and designed by Cindy Ngo, was included in a gift bag for each senior.

An IB faculty performance followed by IB Coordinator Mrs. Lane’s closing remarks concluded the evening’s program

Award Winners

  • Linda McPheron Award (Overcoming Obstacles): Jourdyn Souvannarath
  • Samuel Davis Community Service Award: Div Bhatt
  • Carolyn Nelson “Ideal IB Student” Award: Dominika Dzurny
  • Don Driskell Award (Most Inspirational Teacher): Alvaro Cano

IB Boosters Senior Celebration Committee

The event was funded by the IB Boosters and planned by the IB Boosters Senior Celebration Committee. A BIG thank you to committee chair Darla Kiernan, parent of graduating senior Meredith Kiernan, who led a large team of volunteers that made the evening a success. The committee included Janice Andon, Lea Ann Barlas, Maureen Corbett, Kelly Debure, Diane Friel, Wendy Fruland, Patricia Hollingsworth, Jeannie Hunt, Kay Keene, Cheryl Landwehr, Sandra Ly-Flores, Joe O’Connor, Karyn Rieth, Amy Rettig, Karen Russell, Lisa Scribano, Amy Seeks, Stephanie Siwinski, Anne Zamitalo, and Patty Zanghi.

Faculty and staff contributors

Faculty and staff contributors included Katie Aucremann, Anthony Bryant, Alvaro Cano, Mary Lou Derrickson, Kieonna Lane, David Lawhead, and Kate Munkittrick.

Event Sponsors

The IB Senior Celebration Committee thanks the following sponsors for their generous support:

  • The Hollander Hotel and Tap Room Restaurant
  • Beach Moving

Photos by Joe O’Connor and event photographer Julio Aguilar.  You can click on any photo to enlarge it and start a gallery viewer.

Print article