Band Seniors & Mr. Vaadi at Band Banquet

The annual Band Banquet on May 4, 2018, commemorated this year’s marching band season and concert band performances.  At the banquet, Mr. Cameron Vaadi, Director of Bands, said farewell to the SPHS band community.  He is leaving SPHS and will start advanced graduate studies in French Horn performance at the University of Florida next Fall.

The following students (IB in bold with grade levels) received band awards:

  • National School Marching Band Award: Clara Machado (12)
  • Director’s Award for Band: Vincent Onessimo (12)
  • John Philip Sousa Award: Meara O’Connor (11)
  • Leonard Bernstein Musicianship Award: Seth Yeager (11)

Mr. Vaadi’s explanation of the awards and descriptions of the recipients can be found on the band website’s Awards page at

Mr. Vaadi also announced the following marching band leadership positions for 2018-2019:

  • Drum Major – Victoria Zamitalo (11)
  • Percussion Captain – Justin Barlas (11)
  • Winds Captain – Seth Yeager (11)
  • Brass Section Leader – Meara O’Connor (11)
  • Front Ensemble Section Leader – Rayann Ali (11)
  • Woodwind Section Leader – Lauren Dickhaus (11)

After these announcements, Mr. Vaadi provided many heartfelt comments during his farewell to the band members. The full text can be found on the band website at

Print article